UCR

Neuroscience Graduate Program



Graduate Students



Name
Lab
Contact
Research Interests
Shaida Abachi  

shaida.abachi@email.ucr.edu

Rotating
Melina Acosta Dr. Wendy Saltzman, Department of Biology

melina.acosta@email.ucr.edu

 
Will Agnew-Svoboda Dr. Martin Riccomagno, Department of Molecular, Cell, & Systems Biology

 

will.agnewsvoboda@email.ucr.edu

 

Angela Avitua

Angela Avitua

 

Dr. Byron D. Ford, Division of Biomedical Sciences

 

angela.avitua@email.ucr.edu

 

Tyler Bailey

Tyler Bailey 

 

Dr. Edward Korzus, Department of Psychology

 

tyler.bailey@email.ucr.edu

 

Riley Bottom

Riley

 

Dr. Kelly Huffman, Department of Psychology

riley.bottom@email.ucr.edu

Development of the neocortex, Fetal alcohol spectrum disorders.

Dustin Brewton

Dustin Brewton

 

Dr. Khaleel Abdulrazak, Department of Psychology

 

 

dustin.brewton@email.ucr.edu

 

Response properties of mammalian auditory cortex.

Vanessa Ceja

 

vanessa.ceja@email.ucr.edu

Rotating

Yu-Chieh (David) Chen

David

 

 

Dr. Anupama Dahanukar, Department of Molecular, Cell, & Systems Biology

 

 

yuchieh.chen@email.ucr.edu

 

I have a deep passion for sensory neurobiology. My long-term research goal is to understand fundamental processes underlying all of the primary senses: vision, touch, hearing, and chemosensation (taste and smell), which are essential for organisms to perceive and interact with the world. My doctoral research has particularly focused on how internal pharyngeal taste neurons mediate insect feeding behaviors. I was able to identify different classes of pharyngeal taste neurons and manipulate them to understand whether they inform the fly to eat certain foods or to avoid them. Such genetic manipulation of neurons in insects has vast implications in curbing the spread of mosquito-borne diseases and reducing crop damage by controlling the feeding behavior of mosquitoes and agricultural pests, respectively.

Jonathan Clark

Jonathan Clark

 

Dr. Anand Ray, Department of Molecular, Cell, & Systems Biology

 

 

jonathan.clark@email.ucr.edu

 

Neural mechanisms underlying avoidance behavior in insects.

Kathleen Conner

Kathleen Conner

Dr. Kelly Huffman, Department of Psychology kathleen.conner@email.ucr.edu  

Paula Da Silva Frost

Paula

 

paula.dasilvafrost@email.ucr.edu

 Rotating

Microglial cells; Neuroinflammation; Epigenetics.

Manali Dey

Manali Dey

Dr. Anupama Dahanukar, Department of Molecular, Cell, and Systems Biology

manali.dey@email.ucr.edu

 

Jordan Donohue

Jordan Donohue

Dr. Garret Anderson, Department of Molecular, Cell, & Systems Biology

jordan.donohue@email.ucr.edu

Role of latrophilin two in development of hippocampal circuits

Indira Harahap-Carrillo

Indira

 

indira.harahapcarrillo@email.ucr.edu

Rotating
Bradley Hopp Dr. Khaleel Abdulrazak, Department of Psychology

 

bradley.hopp@email.ucr.edu

Scorpion Venom Resistance in the Pallid bat, Antrozous pallidus.

Nathan Horrell

Nathan Horrell

 

Dr. Wendy Saltzman, Department of Biology

 

 

nathan.horrell@email.ucr.edu

 

Paternal care in California mice.

Mawaheb Kassir

Dr. Khaleel Abdulrazak, Department of Psychology mawaheb.kassir@email.ucr.edu  

Jamiela Kokash

 

Dr. Khaleel Abdulrazak, Department of Psychology jamiela.kokash@email.ucr.edu  

Joel Kowalewski

 

Dr. Anand Ray, Department of Molecular, Cell, & Systems Biology joel.kowalewski@email.ucr.edu  

Krista Marrero

Dr. Edward Zagha, Department of Psychology krista.marrero@email.ucr.edu  

Jim Mc-Burney Lin

Jim

 

Dr. Hongdian Yang, Department of Molecular, Cell, & Systems Biology

jim.mcburneylin@email.ucr.edu 

Neuromodulation in sensory perception.

Vaibhav Menon

 Vaibhav

 

vaibhav.menon@email.ucr.edu

Rotating

Amanda Nguyen

Amanda Nguyen

 

Dr. Iryna Ethell, Division of Biomedical Sciences

 

 

amanda.nguyen003@email.ucr.edu

 

Ephrin-B1 signaling in astrocytic-mediated synapse development and remodeling.

Quynh Anh Nguyen

 

quynhanh.nguyen@email.ucr.edu

Rotating

Susan Nguyen

Dr. Viji Santhakumar, Department of Molecular, Cell, & Systems Biology

susan.nguyen004@email.ucr.edu

Neural-Immune signaling: the changing role of neuronal TLR-4 signaling following brain injury.

 

Christopher Nishioka

Christopher Nishioka

 

Dr. Richard Sun, Bioengineering

 

 

christopher.nishioka@email.ucr.edu

 

White matter damage in Alzheimer's disease

Jeffrey Rumschlag

Jeff

Dr. Khaleel Abdulrazak, Department of Psychology

 

 

jeffrey.rumschlag@email.ucr.edu

Auditory processing deficits in aging

Margaret Schmill

Margaret Schmill

 

Dr. Ted Garland, Department of Biology margaret.schmill@email.ucr.edu Neurobiology, behavior, and reward systems of high runner mice selectively bred for increased voluntary exercise.

John Speigel III

 Graduate Picture

Dr. Edward Korzus, Department of Psychology john.speigeliii@email.ucr.edu Cortical circuits underlying and modulating fear, learning and memory.

Jenny Szu

Jenny Szu

 

Dr. Devin Binder, Biomedical Sciences

 

 

jenny.szu@email.ucr.edu

 

Real-time detection of traumatic brain injury using optical coherence tomography

Xin Tao

Xin

  x.tao@email.ucr.edu Rotating
Andy Tseng Dr. B.Glenn Stanley, Department of Psychology    

Teresa Ubina

Teresa

 

teresa.ubina@email.ucr.edu

Rotating
Tyler Vahedi-Hunter Dr. Martin Riccommagno, Department of Molecular, Cell, & Systems Biology

 

tyler.vahedihunter@email.ucr.edu

 

Anu Venkatesh

Anu Venkatesh

Dr. Ilana Bennett, Department of Psychology

anu.venkatesh@email.ucr.edu

Understanding how our brains change as we age. I use diffusion tensor imaging (DTI) with functional magnetic resonance imaging (fMRI) in humans to "look inside the brain". My current research focuses on the role of the limbic system in learning and memory.
Wenny Wong Dr. Martin Riccomagno, Department of Molecular, Cell, & Systems Biology wenny.wong@email.ucr.edu

 

 

Courtney Wood

Courtney

 

courtney.wood@email.ucr.edu

Rotating

Hana Yamate-Morgan

Hana Yamate-Morgan

 

Dr. Seema      Tiwari-Woodruff, Biomedical Sciences

 

 

hana.yamatemorgan@email.ucr.edu

 

Jennifer Yonan

Jennifer Yonan

 

 

 

 

jennifer.yonan@email.ucr.edu

 

The role of glial cells in edema and inflammation following spinal cord injury.

Zhaoran Zhang

Zhaoran

Dr. Edward Zagha,    Department of Psychology

zhaoran.zhang@email.ucr.edu

 

SaveSaveSaveJim

More Information

General Campus Information

University of California, Riverside
900 University Ave.
Riverside, CA 92521
Tel: (951) 827-1012

Career OpportunitiesUCR Libraries
Campus StatusDirections to UCR

Program Information

Cell Biology and Neuroscience
1001 Batchelor Hall

Margarita Roman, Graduate Student Services Advisor
Ph.D. Program in Neuroscience
Tel: (951) 827-4716
Toll Free (800) 735-0717
E-mail: neuro@mail.ucr.edu

Footer