UCR

Neuroscience Graduate Program



Graduate Students



Name
Lab
Contact
Research Interests
Melina Acosta  

melina.acosta@email.ucr.edu

Rotating
Will Agnew-Svoboda Dr. Aaron Seitz, Department of Psychology

951-827-5243

will.agnewsvoboda@email.ucr.edu

 

Angela Avitua

Angela Avitua

 

Dr. Byron D. Ford, Division of Biomedical Sciences

 

angela.avitua@email.ucr.edu

 

Tyler Bailey

Tyler Bailey 

 

Dr. Edward Korzus, Department of Psychology

 

tyler.bailey@email.ucr.edu

 

Riley Bottom

 

Dr. Kelly Huffman, Department of Psychology

riley.bottom@email.ucr.edu

 

Dustin Brewton

Dustin Brewton

 

Dr. Khaleel Razak, Department of Psychology

 

951-827-5060

dustin.brewton@email.ucr.edu

 

Response properties of mammalian auditory cortex.

Yu-Chieh (David) Chen

David Chen

 

Dr. Anupama Dahanukar, Department of Entomology

 

951-827-5742

yuchieh.chen@email.ucr.edu

 

Functional role of sweet receptors in Drosophila.

Jonathan Clark

Jonathan Clark

 

Dr. Anand Ray, Department of Entomology

 

951-827-5998

jonathan.clark@email.ucr.edu

 

Tracing of pheromone circuits in the Drosophila olfactory system.

Kathleen Conner

Kathleen Conner

Dr. Kelly Huffman, Department of Psychology kathleen.conner@email.ucr.edu Rotating

Nicholas Cuvelier

Nicholas Cuvelier

 

Dr. Todd Fiacco, Department Cell, Biology and Neuroscience nicholas.cuvelier@email.ucr.edu  

Jordan Donohue

Jordan Donohue

Dr. Monica Carson, Department of Biomedical Sciences

jordan.donohue@email.ucr.edu

Rotating

Isbelle Holman

Isabelle Holman

 

Dr. Todd Fiacco, Department of Cell Biology & Neuroscience

 

951-827-2200
isabelle.holman@email.ucr.edu

 

 

Modulation of astrocyte glutamate uptake and neuronal excitability.

Bradley Hopp Dr. Khaleel Razak, Department of Psychology

951-827-5060

bradley.hopp@email.ucr.edu

Scorpion Venom Resistance in the Pallid bat, Antrozous pallidus.

Nathan Horrell

Nathan Horrell

 

Dr. Wendy Saltzman, Department of Biology

 

951-827-5929

nathan.horrell@email.ucr.edu

 

Paternal care in California mice.

Philip Huebner

Philip Huebner

 

Dr. Jon Willits, Department of Psychology

 

951-827-7865

phueb001@.ucr.edu

 

Krista Marrero

  krista.marrero@email.ucr.edu Rotating

Kassir Mawaheb

  mawaheb.kassir@email.ucr.edu Rotating

Joel Kowalewski

 

Dr. Anand Ray, Department of Entomology joel.kowalewski@email.ucr.edu  

Sang Soo Lee

Sang Soo Lee

 

Dr. Michael Adams, Department of Entomology

 

951-827-4746

sang.lee007@email.ucr.edu

 

Hormonal regulation of behavior - Drosophila melanogaster

Amanda Nguyen

Amanda Nguyen

 

Dr. Iryna Ethell, Division of Biomedical Sciences

 

951-827-2186

amanda.nguyen003@email.ucr.edu

 

Ephrin-B1 signaling in astrocytic-mediated synapse development and remodeling.

Susan Nguyen

 

susan.nguyen004@email.ucr.edu

Rotating

Christopher Nishioka

Christopher Nishioka

 

Dr. Richard Sun, Bioengineering

 

951-827-1475

christopher.nishioka@email.ucr.edu

 

White matter damage in Alzheimer's disease

Jeffrey Rumschlag

Dr. Khaleel Razak, Department of Entomology

 

951-827-4805

jeffrey.rumschlag@email.ucr.edu

 

Margaret Schmill

Margaret Schmill

 

Dr. Ted Garland, Department of Biology margaret.schmill@email.ucr.edu Neurobiology, behavior, and reward systems of high runner mice selectively bred for increased voluntary exercise.

Alison Smith

Alison Smith

 

Dr. Aaron Seitz, Department of Psychology

 

951-827-5243

alison.smith@email.ucr.edu

 

Identifying language discrimination deficits in combat veterans

John Speigel III

 Graduate Picture

Dr. Edward Korzus, Department of Psychology john.speigeliii@email.ucr.edu Cortical circuits underlying and modulating fear, learning and memory.

Jenny Szu

Jenny Szu

 

Dr. Devin Binder, Biomedical Sciences

 

951-827-3802

jenny.szu@email.ucr.edu

 

Real-time detection of traumatic brain injury using optical coherence tomography

Minh Tong

Minh Tong

 

Dr. Michael Adams, Department of Entomology

 

951-827-4716

minh.tong@email.ucr.edu

 

Decision making in Drosophila

Andy Tseng Dr. B.Glenn Stanley, Department of Psychology 951-827-5244  
Tyler Vahedi-Hunter Dr. Martin Riccommagno, Department of Cell Biology & Neuroscience

951-827-4682

tyler.vahedihunter@email.ucr.edu

 

Anu Venkatesh

Anu Venkatesh

Dr. Ilana Bennett, Department of Psychology

anu.venkatesh@email.ucr.edu

Understanding how our brains change as we age. I use diffusion tensor imaging (DTI) with functional magnetic resonance imaging (fMRI) in humans to "look inside the brain". My current research focuses on the role of the limbic system in learning and memory.

Teresa Wen

Teresa Wen

Dr. Khaleel Razak, Department of Psychology

951-827-5060

teresa.wen@ucr.edu

Dendritic spine morphology and response properties in the auditory cortex of a Fragile X mouse model
Wenny Wong Dr. Martin Riccomagno, Department of Cell, Biology and Neuroscience wenny.wong@email.ucr.edu

 

 

Hana Yamate-Morgan

Hana Yamate-Morgan

 

Dr. Seema          Tiwari-Woodruff, Biomedical Sciences

 

951-827-7819

hana.yamatemorgan@email.ucr.edu

 

Jennifer Yonan

Jennifer Yonan

 

Dr. Devin Binder, Biomedical Sciences

 

951-827-3802

jennifer.yonan@email.ucr.edu

 

The role of glial cells in edema and inflammation following spinal cord injury.

Zhaoran Zhang

Zhaoran Zhang

Dr. Edward Zagha,    Department of Psychology

zhaoran.zhang@email.ucr.edu

Rotating

SaveSaveSave

More Information

General Campus Information

University of California, Riverside
900 University Ave.
Riverside, CA 92521
Tel: (951) 827-1012

Career OpportunitiesUCR Libraries
Campus StatusDirections to UCR

Program Information

Cell Biology and Neuroscience
1001 Batchelor Hall

Margarita Roman, Graduate Student Services Advisor
Ph.D. Program in Neuroscience
Tel: (951) 827-4716
Toll Free (800) 735-0717
E-mail: neuro@mail.ucr.edu

Footer