UCR

Neuroscience Graduate Program



Faculty


Name
Title
Contact
Description
Adams, Michael E. Ph.D. Director, Neuroscience Graduate Program; Professor, Department of Molecular, Cell & Systems Biology and Entomology Phone: 951-827-4746
Fax: 951-827-3087
michael.adams@ucr.edu
Hormonal regulation of development and innate behaviors; isolation, characterization and physiological actions of arthropod venom toxins.

Anderson, Garret, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Department of Molecular, Cell and Systems Biology

Phone: 951-827-5849 garret.anderson@ucr.edu

 

The molecular roles of Adhesion G-Protein Coupled Receptors (aGPCRs) in controlling the specificity of neural circuit assembly. Using genetic mouse models, coupled with viral circuit tracing methods, synaptic electrophysiology in acute brain slices, immunohistochemistry and imaging, we seek to understand how aGPCRs shape the patterning of neural circuits.

Andersen, G. John Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Psychology

Phone: 951-827-4383,
Fax: 951-827-3985
andersen@ucr.edu

Interactions of the visual and vestibular systems in determining spatial orientation. Computational models of high level visual processing; motion perception, object and scene perception.
Bennett, Ilana, Ph.D Assistant Professor, Department of Psychology

Phone: 951-827-2546            ilana.bennett@ucr.edu

Neural substrates of learning and memory and the effect of aging on these brain-behavior relationships using magnetic resonance imaging (MRI).
Binder, Devin K. Ph.D., M.D. Associate Professor, Division of Biomedical Sciences, School of Medicine Phone: 951-827-2224 devin.binder@ucr.edu Glial cell research, epilepsy, and brain and spinal cord injury, and optical methods to interrogate the brain
Burgess, Curt Ph.D. Professor, Department of Psychology

Phone: 951-827-2392,
Fax: 951-827-3985
curt@ucr.edu
http://locutus.ucr.edu/

Neuropsychology of language and memory; computational models of high-dimensional memory; connectionist models of language and memory; psycholinguisitcs.
Carson, Monica J. Ph.D. Professor and Chair, Division of Biomedical Sciences Phone: 951-827-6089,
FAX: 951-827-5504
monica.carson@ucr.edu
The role of microglia in the developing and adult CNS during health or neurodegenerative and autoimmune disease.
Chiarello, Christine Ph.D. Professor, Department of Psychology Phone: 951-827-5096,
Fax: 951-827-3985
chrisc@galaxy.ucr.edu

Left and right hemisphere contributions to language comprehension in the normal brain; neural bases of word meaning interpretation; mechanisms of cerebral hemispheric interaction.

Cho, Jun-Hyeong Ph.D Assistant Professor, Department of Molecular, Cell & Systems Biology

Phone: 951-827-2560,
Fax: 951-827-3087
juncho@ucr.edu 

Investigate neural circuit mechanisms of emotional learning and memory using electrophysiological and optogenetic approaches in fear conditioning model.  We also study the role of long-term synaptic plasticity in the formation, extinction and modulation of conditioned fear memory.
Coss, Djurdjica Ph.D. Associate Professor, Division of Biomedical Sciences, School of Medicine Phone: 951-827-7791 djurdjica.coss@ucr.edu

To understand hypothalamic and pituitary regulation of reproductive function and fertility. Elucidating how the neuroendocrine cell in the hypothalamus integrates the panoply of metabolic cues, food intake, stress, peripheral hormonal signals and environmental insults, to regulate development, puberty and reproductive cycle that are necessary for the survival of the species.

Curras-Collazo, Margarita C. Ph.D. Associate Professor, Department of Molecular, Cell & Systems Biology Phone: 951-827-3960,
Fax: 951-827-2966 margarita.curras@ucr.edu
Neurophysiology, neuropharmacology, neuroendocrinology, excitotoxicity. Identification and function of glutamate receptor subunits in neuroendocrine cells, physiological regulation of glutamate receptor expression, mechanisms underlying neuroprotection.
Currie, Scott N. Ph.D. Associate Professor, Department of Molecular, Cell & Systems Biology Phone: 951-827-2411,
Fax: 951-827-2966
currie@mail.ucr.edu
Network, synaptic and cellular mechanisms that control locomotion in the vertebrate spinal cord and brainstem.
Dahanukar, Anupama A. Ph.D. Associate Professor, Department of Entomology Phone: 951-827-5742,
Fax: 951-827-3086 anupama.dahanukar@ucr.edu
Molecular, genetic and neuroanatomical analysis of Drosophila taste system function and taste-guided behaviors.
DiPatrizio, Nicholas V. Ph.D. Assistant Professor, Division of Biomedical Sciences, School of Medicine Phone: 951-827-7252 nicholas.dipatrizio@ucr.edu  Elucidating the complex integrative neurobiology and physiology that controls food reward, sensory processing, and energy balance.
Ethell, Iryna M. Ph.D. Professor, Division of Biomedical Sciences, School of Medicine Phone: 951-827-2186,
Fax: 951-827-7121
iryna.ethell@ucr.edu
Studies of the molecular mechanisms that trigger dendritic spine formation.
Fiacco, Todd A. Ph.D. Associate Professor, Department of Molecular, Cell & Systems Biology Phone: 951-827-7865,
Fax: 951-827-3087
todd.fiacco@ucr.edu
Role of astrocytes in physiology and pathology.
Ford, Byron D. Ph.D Professor, Division of Biomedical Sciences, School of Medicine Phone: 951-827-2473,
byron.ford@ucr.edu
Understanding mechanisms and development of treatment strategies for stroke and neuroinflammatory disorders.
Garcia-Castro, Martin Ph.D. Associate Professor, Division of Biomedical Sciences, School of Medicine Phone: 951-827-7251
Fax:
martin.garcia-castro@ucr.edu
Our laboratory focuses on understanding the cellular and molecular mechanisms that govern the formation and differentiation potential of neural crest cells (NCCs).
Garland, Jr., Theodore Ph.D. Professor, Department of Biology Phone: 951-827-3524,
Fax: 951-827-4286
tgarland@ucr.edu
Evolution and genetics of behavior and its neural and physiological substrates; early-life epigenetic effects on adult behavior; control of motivation for voluntary exercise; exercise physiology; selection experiments and experimental evolution; phylogenetic comparative analyses.
Haga-Yamanaka, Sachiko Ph.D. Assistant Professor, Department of Molecular, Cell & Systems Biology

Phone: 951-827-3560,
Fax: 951-827-3087  Sachiko.yamanaka@ucr.edu

 

Hormones and pheromones: Internal and external control of animal behaviors. We focus on the mouse vomeronasal sensory system that detects and discriminates specific molecular cues provided as pheromones. Neurons in the brain that respond to pheromone signals express a variety of hormone receptors, suggesting a potential mechanistic link between the pheromone-processing circuitry and endocrine hormones. Using an in vitro cell culture system and in vivo mouse models, our lab aims to elucidate how the brain controls behavior through integration of external sensory signals and internal hormonal state.

Hickmott, Peter W. Ph.D. Associate Professor, Department of Psychology Phone: 951-827-7308,
Fax: 951-827-3985  peter.hickmott@ucr.edu
Organization and plasticity of cortical circuits.
Higham, Timothy Ph.D. Assistant Professor, Department of Biology Phone: 951-827-3652,
Fax: 951-827-4286
thigham@ucr.edu
My research is aimed at understanding how animals function mechanically and physiologically in their environment, by integrating biomechanics, muscle physiology and functional morphology to elucidate the mechanisms underlying locomotion and feeding in vertebrates
Hu, Xiaoping Ph.D

Professor and Chair, Department of Bioengineering

Phone: 951-827-2925         Fax: 951-827-6416         xiaoping.hu@ucr.edu

In addition to developing MRI techniques for imaging brain structure, function, and connectivity, we are working on discovery of imaging biomarkers for Parkinson's Disease, bio-inspired computing, neuroimaging-guided modeling of brain function and behavior, and understanding the function and circuitry of the locus coeruleus.
Huffman, Kelly Ph.D. Associate Professor, Department of Psychology Phone: 951-827-4805,
Fax: 951-827-3985 kelly.huffman@ucr.edu
Molecular development and evolution of the neocortex. Using a molecular, genetic and neuroanatomical approach to study neocortical development and regionalization.
Korzus, Edward Ph.D. Assistant Professor, Department of Psychology Phone: 951-827-4992,
Fax: 951-827-3985 edward.korzus@ucr.edu
Neurobiological bases of memory. We investigate the functional organization of the brain circuitry and its specific role in the ability to keep memories distinct and resistant to confusion
Martins-Green, Manuela Ph.D. Professor, Department of Molecular, Cell & Systems Biology Phone: 951-827-2585,
Fax: 951-827-4286 manuela.martins@ucr.edu
The role of chemokines in wound healing and tumor development.
Michalska, Kalina Ph.D. Assistant Professor, Department of Psychology Phone: 951-827-5209,
kalina.michalska@ucr.edu

Neurodevelopmental trajectories of emotion understanding in typically developing children and youth with dysregulated emotions, including children with disruptive behavior problems and those with social anxiety. Variation in maternal parenting and links with mechanisms of risk for atypical socioemotional functioning in early childhood. 

Morton, Thomas H. Ph.D. Professor, Department of Chemistry Phone: 951-827-4735,
Fax: 951-827-4713 thomas.morton@ucr.edu
Molecular mechanisms of receptor-ligand interactions; olfactory transduction in vertebrate species and its relationship to enzymatic catalysis.
Murn, Jernej, Ph.D. Assistant Professor, Department of Biochemistry

Phone: 951-827-4267,
jernej.murn@ucr.edu

We study the molecular basis of neuronal lineage commitment and function by focusing on RNA-binding proteins and chromatin regulators. We also combine optogenetics, bioengineering and gene editing to study neuron-to-neuron communication and to understand how disruption of gene regulation contributes to neurological disorders
Peters, Megan, Ph.D. Assistant Professor, Bioengineering Department

mpeters@engr.ucr.edu

 

We combine neuroimaging (fMRI, EEG, ECoG), computational modeling, brain stimulation (TMS, tDCS). and machine learning to understand how perception, awareness/consciousness, and computations of uncertainty are accomplished in humans and animals.

Ray, Anandasankar, Ph.D. Associate Professor, Department of Entomology; Director, Center for Disease Vector Research Phone: 951-827-5998,
Fax: 951-827-3086 anand.ray@ucr.edu
We use Drosophila as a model to study the molecular and neuronal basis of odor coding; mechanisms of patterning and development in sensory neurons; and mapping of neural circuitry in the central nervous system.
Razak, Khaleel, Ph.D. Associate Professor, Department of Psychology Phone and Fax: 951-827-5060  khaleel@ucr.edu Sensory system development and plasticity, echolocation and sound localization behaviors, recovery from brain injury.
Riccomagno, Martin M. Ph.D. Assistant Professor, Department of Molecular, Cell & Systems Biology Phone: 951-827-2010
Fax: 951-827-3087
martin.riccomagno@ucr.edu
Understanding molecular mechanisms underlying brain circuit formation and refinement, with particular emphasis on neuronal pruning events.
Santhakumar, Viji Ph.D. Associate Professor, Department of Molecular, Cell & Systems Biology Phone: 951-827-4682
Fax: 951-827-3087 vijayalakshmi.santhakumar@ucr.edu

Our research focus is to determine how connectivity and modulation of inhibitory circuits shapes emergent network behavior in the normal brain and in diseases. Our work combines slice and in vivo electro- and opto-physiology with computational modeling of networks to gain an in depth understanding of how inhibitory neuronal circuits, neuro-immune interactions and adult neurogenesis contribute to epilepsy and behavioral deficits after brain injury and prolonged seizures.

Saltzman, Wendy Ph.D. Professor, Department of Biology Phone: 951-827-6356,
Fax: 951-827-4286 wendy.saltzman@ucr.edu
Behavioral neuroendocrinology; social control of reproductive and endocrine function; parental behavior.
Seitz, Aaron Ph.D. Professor, Department of Psychology Phone: and Fax: 951-827-5060  aaron.seitz@ucr.edu Neural mechanisms that allow for, stabilize, and consolidate, sensory learning. Methods of psychophysics, neuroimaging (EEG and fMRI) and computational neuroscience.
Stanley, B. Glenn Ph.D. Professor and Chair, Department of Psychology; Professor, Department of Molecular, Cell & Systems Biology

Phone: 951-827-5625
Fax: 951-827-3985 glenn.stanley@ucr.edu

Neuronal control of eating behavior, disturbances of eating behavior, and neurotransmitters.
Sun, Shu-Wei (Richard) Ph.D. Adjunct Professor, Basic Science and Radiation Medicine, Loma Linda University Phone: 909-558-7115 richard.sun@ucr.edu

Using high field animal MRI to investigate CNS neurodegeneration, inflammation, and demyelination to better understand Multiple Sclerosis and Alzheimer's Disease. Especially interested in characterizing the functional and structural profiles of degeneration in the visual system.

Tiwari-Woodruff, Seema Kaushalya Ph.D.  Associate Professor, Division of Biomedical Sciences, School of Medicine Phone: 951-827-7819
seema.tiwari-woodruff@ucr.edu

Dr. Tiwari-Woodruff’s laboratory research is focused on understanding the molecular events involved in neurodegeneration and neuroprotection of the demyelinating central nervous system.

Willits, Jon A., Ph.D. Assistant Professor, Department of Psychology

Phone: 951-827-3897    jon.willits@ucr.edu

Computational Neuroscience, Neuro-Cognitive Development, Computational Models and Behavior Experiments of Human Learning and Memory.

Wilson, Emma Ph.D. Associate Professor, Division of Biomedical Sciences, School of Medicine Phone: 951-827-4328
Fax: 951-827-5504 emma.wilson@ucr.edu
Immune responses in the CNS during infection with Toxoplasma gondii.
Wu, Rachel Ph.D. Assistant Professor, Department of Psychology

Phone: 951-827-5269
Fax 951-827-3985
rachelw@ucr.edu

Unifying cognitive development and cognitive aging theories via studies on attention and learning interactions across the lifespan using EEG and eye-tracking.
Yamanaka, Naoki Ph.D. Assistant Professor, Department of Entomology, Institute for Integrative Genome Biology, Center for Disease Vector Research Phone: 951-827-5253
Fax: 951-827-3086  naoki.yamanaka@ucr.edu 
Developmental transition of insect behaviors regulated by neuroendocrine signaling.
Yang, Hongdian Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Department of Molecular, Cell & Systems Biology

 

Phone: 951-827-5414 hongdian@ucr.edu  www.hyanglab.com

        

 

We employ multi-disciplinary approaches, including state-of-the-art in vivo electrophysiology and calcium imaging, optogenetics, mouse behavior, computational modeling and theory, to link cellular-level physiology to circuit dynamics and network analysis in behaving animals, with the ultimate goal to understand the organizational principles of neuronal ensembles and the basis of information processing by single neurons and neural circuits in health and disease.

Zagha, Edward, M.D., Ph.D. Assistant Professor, Department of Psychology Phone: 951-827-5243 edward.zagha@ucr.edu Sensory and motor systems; understanding the cortical circuit and cellular mechanisms underlying sensory detection and impulse control.
Zhang, Weiwei Ph.D. Assistant Professor, Department of Psychology Phone: 951-827-5242 weiwei.zhang@ucr.edu

Capacity and precision of visual perception, attention, and memory; Hierarchical Representations in visual memory; Feature-based attention; Cognitive modeling; ERPs; Transcranial Electrical Stimulation.

Zheng, Sika Ph.D. Assistant Professor, Division of Biomedical Sciences, School of Medicine Phone: 951-827-7670 sika.zheng@ucr.edu Gene expression regulation underlying neuronal differentiation and dysfunction. We are focused on RNA processing including alternative pre-mRNA splicing and mRNA decay as well as the roles of long non-coding RNAs in neural development. Defects in these regulatory processes lead to some of neurodevelopmental disorders and mental retardation.
Zidovetzki, Raphael Ph.D. Professor, Department of Molecular, Cell & Systems Biology Phone: 951-827-5628
Fax: 951-827-4286 raphael.zidovetzki@ucr.edu
Transmembrane signal transduction; interaction of second messengers with lipid membranes; dynamics of cell surface receptors.

More Information

General Campus Information

University of California, Riverside
900 University Ave.
Riverside, CA 92521
Tel: (951) 827-1012

Career OpportunitiesUCR Libraries
Campus StatusDirections to UCR

Program Information

Cell Biology and Neuroscience
1001 Batchelor Hall

Margarita Roman, Graduate Student Services Advisor
Ph.D. Program in Neuroscience
Tel: (951) 827-4716
Toll Free (800) 735-0717
E-mail: neuro@mail.ucr.edu

Footer